SOLSC #5 A Day of Work

4:45 am arrive at the office

Mumble good morning

Set Out of Office message

Climb into van with my nemesis

2 hour drive

Dark and raining

No breakfast

Sore toe crushed in shoe

Chat with principal

Meet with teachers

Bumped from meeting room

Crash in information center

Share information

Set goals

Gather belongings

Relocate

Brainstorm

Subway

Collaborate

Negotiate

Make a timeline

Pack up

Open umbrella

Back in the van

3 hours

Awkward small talk

Drooping eye lids

Back at the office

5:45 pm arrive home

12 thoughts on “SOLSC #5 A Day of Work

  1. Tracey

    Wow, What a huge day. I hope you have a great sleep tonight. I think you did well to be thinking clearly enough to post your slice. BTW your crushed toe must have really been annoying you all day. Been there done that. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. readerlee Post author

      Thanks, Tracey! I slept really well and for 8 hours! You’re right about the toe. I could have included “limping” in the last stanza.

      Reply
  2. anita

    I’ve been reading your posts from abroad and marvel at how even though you live on the other side of the world, our lives are still so connected! Crushed toes, long drives, small talk…..the tiny moments of your life….keep writing about them!

    Reply
    1. readerlee Post author

      Thanks for the encouragement, Anita! I love reading others’ posts, but it is much more difficult to feel motivated to post something of my own. I appreciate your time. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. showgem

    I felt a glimmer of exhaustion just reading about your day. Love how everything came together in your writing to give a clear perspective about your day. Hopefully you do not have too many of those days,

    Reply
    1. readerlee Post author

      Thank you! I’m sure we all have these exhausting days. I never try poetic writing, but the fatigue made me desperate enough to try something different.

      Reply
  4. Julie Johnson

    Whew! What a day. I hope not all of your days are like this. I like the list…it gives the sense of the hurriedness of the day. Not much time in between tasks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

