SOLSC #10: Haunted

Haunted

People come in and out of our lives

A normal part of longevity

Deceased family, childhood friends, former colleagues, ex-lovers

We go about our days rarely thinking about most of these people.

 

The pictures that sit in the same spot become invisible in plain sight

Desks and rooms taken over by others; previous occupants forgotten

Cards, pictures, and gifts hide in drawers, shifted aside when we need to find something necessary

We overlook the artifacts and hide the memories in the back of our minds.

 

But what if the memories could surprise us?

What if they moved around, never in the same place, so always noticeable?

Drive down the street and there’s the blue number 75 70,

A slap in the face, immediately taking you back in time.

 

You finally put the pain to rest, move on.

Walk down the street and around the corner comes blue number 56 20

A punch in the stomach, taking your breath away

Bringing back the joy and tears associated with its former driver.

 

The men leave, but their vehicles stay behind

Leaving a graveyard of ghosts

Floating into sight when least expected

Making it impossible to forget.

5 thoughts on “SOLSC #10: Haunted

  1. Lee Ann Spillane (@spillarke)

    I like the flotsam images from the drawer and the mindless shifting of things unaware. I wasn’t sure which vehicles stay behind, buses or military assigned cars. Then I found myself wondering if drivers died or were shipped out… there’s more to this story that I’m trying to get at as I read.

    Reply
    1. readerlee Post author

      Yes, I suppose I knew this would only make sense to me (or maybe others who live on this base). I can’t even say this would definitely relate to other bases. But it was on my mind so I wrote it for me.

      Basically, on this base, the personal vehicles people buy don’t leave. They keep getting passed on to others as people leave (for whatever reason they may be leaving).

      Reply
  2. peteacher1

    wow! I wasn’t really sure what this poem was about until I read your comment, but it had a very serious, heart-felt and sad tone. I was intrigued and the piece kept me very interested in learning more. Great piece!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

