SOLSC #14: A New Start

Image

I closed on my house today.  It’s a bittersweet end, for many reasons.  That was my first house; my only house.  I moved there with my dogs after living in Turkey.  My dogs had become senior citizens – too arthritic to climb stairs or sit in dog carriers traveling for 24 hours.   They needed a place to retire with no stairs and their own space.  The house offered that.  It has a big yard in a nice neighborhood down the street from a lake and across the street from a walking path.  It was perfect for them and for me.  And they did live the rest of their lives there.   Now, my dogs are gone and so is the space I shared with them. 

 

Of course, it’s not just the memory of my pets that makes me sad to let go of the house.  It was my space.  That I owned (well, along with the bank).  And I planted mint and rosemary and cilantro and the avocado tree.  I have left them behind.  I cut the grass every week, sometimes twice a week, and edged and weedeated (weedate?) and swept and trimmed and raked.  I replaced the mailbox and the roof and the shed and the piping and remodeled the bathroom (well, I paid others to do these things).  I made it my space.  And now someone else is in my space.

 

But I also realize how incredibly lucky I am.  Lucky to have had that space, my dogs, fantastic neighbors, and fresh herbs.  And now lucky to be free of them.  To live overseas without that stress and responsibility.  To start over, knowing that when I am ready to return, I can go back to that place, or anywhere else in the country.  I am definitely fortunate.

 

22 thoughts on “SOLSC #14: A New Start

  1. Adrienne

    I’ve been in my new house for 7-1/2 years.I still think of this as the new house. The old house was my first house that I moved into with my dogs, after I returned from teaching in Colombia for 3 years. I like to drive past the old house from time to time.

    Reply
    1. readerlee Post author

      That sounds so similar to my situation, Adrienne. I know that I will drive by my house also (and, hopefully, stop for dinner with my neighbors and the new owner).

      Reply
      1. readerlee Post author

        It really is! I like my neighbors so much that I would only have sold if it was to someone who would also be a good neighbor. This buyer is perfect for the house and neighborhood!

  2. Tara Smith

    I definitely feel the tug of memories and a good life lived in that house…and yet, you are clearly also ready to let go. That certainly is being fortunate.

    Reply
    1. readerlee Post author

      Thank you, Tara! One of the nice things about this writing is that as I start to put things down, it is a reminder to me of how incredibly fortunate I am.

      Reply
  3. Kim K

    “I made it my space. And now someone else is in my space.” This line just popped out and stuck to me. It speaks volumes. A hopeful slice in the end.

    Reply
  4. arjeha

    It is hard to pack up a house and go somewhere else. We moved here 25 years ago and the house we live in is still referred to as “Roger Morgan’s (the previous owner) house. We left memories, but made oh so many new ones.

    Reply
    1. readerlee Post author

      You must have a close neighborhood of people who have been there a long time if they’re still remembering Mr. Morgan! My excellent neighbors are one of the things I will miss most about my house. But, now I know what I want to look for when it’s time to buy a new house.

      Reply
    1. readerlee Post author

      Thanks for sharing your post, Julie. Writing that letter was such a nice idea, but I do know why it would have been difficult at the beginning.

      Reply
  5. Jaana

    I have never owned a house. But I have lived in my current home for over 10 years. I would probably feel a little lost if I needed to move. Glad that you are in your new place creating new memories!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

