SOLSC #24: A Special Celebration

It is moments like this that I am sorry I have not worked harder to be poet, but today is a special day, and this is a writing challenge, so I will try.

A Celebration of My FriendImage

We started as fellow Geese oh so many years ago.

Reading, discussing, facilitating, crying (well, some of us).

We became friends.

Drinking, eating, talking, surviving.

Later we were plugged-in.

Stressing, writing, reading, bathing suit shopping.

Weโ€™ve been roommates.

Gathering, reflecting, planning, smiling.

And all of these roles over the years have made us sisters.

Living, growing, laughing, loving.

And although I live on the other side of the world,

I can picture your palm trees, colored pencils, Lilies, and Daisies.

I can whip up some drunken corn and have you at my dinner table.

I can hear your calming voice and kind words; your prayers made even for an atheist.

So, I have you with me wherever I go.

And I am thankful every day that you are my friend.

Happy Birthday, LAS!

17 thoughts on “SOLSC #24: A Special Celebration

Leave a Reply

