SOLSC #31: Success!

When I began this challenge, I was insecure and intimidated.  Prior to this month, I haven’t been writing everyday and I wasn’t sure how I would get something done each day that I was willing to show others.   After the first few days, I lowered my standards and convinced myself to just push through.  (I’m not sure you would be able to tell I lowered my standards by comparing the first posts to later posts.  I may have, perhaps, unconsciously lowered my standards from the beginning.)

I was convinced that this would be a painful experience, but it turns out that I truly enjoyed it.  I’ve definitely got work to do with my writing, and I see that that work is much easier when I’m actually writing.  It is also easier when people are reading and commenting.  Of course, I knew before this that you have to write to improve your writing, and feedback is important.  What I realized, though, is that the feedback really didn’t need to be constructive criticism.  I only received really positive, affirming comments.  That made me feel good and want to post again the next day.  But, as I read others’ slices, I could see what I hadn’t done in my own writing.  I could see things that I appreciated and that I would like to try to do.  I wanted to write better for my audience.  I felt an obligation because with so many people participating, I knew that reading my slice was taking precious time.   I now have a list of things to try and I have thirty drafts to work with.

I am so grateful to Beth at Seeking Six for posting the information about Slice of Life on FB.  In fact, it wasn’t until the second or third time that she posted that I decided to commit and signed up.  Both Beth and Lee Ann (Portable Teacher) are long-time friends and colleagues, and their comments kept me going at the beginning when I wanted to quit.

If it were just the three of us (me, Beth, Lee Ann) I’m not sure I would have kept going.  This is a wonderful thing that Two Writing Teachers host.  I know it must be a lot of work so I didn’t want to quit on all of those who made this happen.  So many people are benefitting.  When you think about each person that is participating, and then each student that each participant educates. . . whew!  Impressive!

I really appreciate each person who took the time to read my posts.   Reading comments and blogs has allowed me to get to know some people just a bit.  Thanks Kim K, Bbutler, Loralee, Julie J, Shaggerspicchu, Tara Smith, tsudmeier, Adrienne, arjeha, blkdrama, and Elsie for responding numerous times.  And thanks to the many others that I heard from and who gave me the privilege of reading their writing.   I look forward to visiting on Tuesdays and being better in 2015!

23 thoughts on “SOLSC #31: Success!

  1. dogtrax

    It’s great that you found a writing groove, with a purpose to write, too. Tuesdays are Slice of Life, too, so maybe your writing mojo will keep you energized throughout the year.
    Kevin

    Reply
  2. bbutler627

    What a really nice ending to the month! Seriously, a perfect reflection for all is newbie slicers! I’m only just getting up and have to get ready for back to work before the kids wake. This was a nice early surprise. Ive really enjoyed your slices. I have to go back to see your “lowered standards” but the last 10 have been excellent! Those are only when I found you. I will see you on Tuesdays though! Thank you for the shout out. The feeling is mutual 😉

    Reply
  3. Jaana

    I have really enjoyed getting to know you a little bit through your blog. So glad you decided to join in this year. I look forward seeing you on Tuesdays!

    Reply
  4. Tracey

    I really enjoyed reading your posts. I am looking forward to reading more each Tuesday. Thank you for all the feedback on my posts too. Chat soon Tracey

    Reply
  5. Loralee

    My eyes filled up seeing my name. It has been absolutely wonderful reading your blog and I thank YOU for giving your time to comment and encourage me. We need to stay in touch through Tuesday slices. ❤

    Reply
      1. loraleebain

        We went without power for a couple days (another storm)…so I missed the first Tuesday. Next one! ;0) …Thank you for your sweet comment on my last day.

  6. Kim K

    It has been great reading your slices. I see no lowering of standards at all. I’ve been caught up in your stories from across the world- yet feeling so close to what you were writing about. That’s a hard thing to accomplish as a writer. Your comments always brought smiles to my face. Thank YOU! see you on Tuesdays!!!

    Reply
  7. arjeha

    I can so relate to your post. This was my first time doing this challenge and I wasn’t sure I would make it to the end. Many days I wrote just to have something and wasn’t sure what the end result was going to be. I appreciate your comments throughout the month. Bob

    Reply
    1. Lee Post author

      Thanks, Bob! I would not have guessed that this was your first time. I hope you will continue sharing on your blog.

      Reply
  8. Tara Smith

    I so looked forward to your posts, and the way you shared your daily life so far away from us. Writing every day is hard, but you learn so much about who you are and what’s important to you through it…and it helps to have that immediate feedback. Hope to see you on Tuesdays!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

