SOL: Yikes! It’s Tuesday!

 
Slice of Life hosted at the
Join in and share a slice of your life.
 

 

What?  It’s Tuesday?  Already?  When I said I would slice on Tuesdays, I thought I’d have some time off.  I was so excited about the 31st and relieved when I hit submit.  I responded to the wonderful slicers that I’ve met about how I was looking forward to Tuesdays.  Obviously, I was not connecting the words tomorrow and Tuesday in those moments.  But I said I would do it so here I am.  I’m considering this another draft to add to my pile. 

When I got home today, I had about 35 minutes to prepare and scarf down some before before heading to bowling.  I put on an episode of Buffy – my background noise, my comfort when I’m stressed.  I know every episode; no need to pay attention.  I know that good will be victorious.  (Something I can’t be sure of when I’m in the kitchen.)

The scene begins with Buffy running from a scaly, gray demon with horns on its head and an assemblage of fleshy wattles hanging from its chin.  Now, already I know I’ve watched this too many times because I can typically be fairly mindless and nonjudgmental for tv, but right now I am wondering why the writers would have her running from the demon when she is the Slayer and it is her job to kill the demon.  Buffy stumbles and falls.  Really?  But she’s The Slayer!  The CHOSEN one, gifted with strength and agility.  And she suddenly trips over her own feet?   She miraculously rebounds with an amazing backflip.  Another demon shows up.  Buffy does a flying kick sending one demon across the playground and she pulls out a huge knife and stabs the other demon.  Where was she keeping that big knife?  How did she not impale herself when she fell on the ground?  The scene ends with the demon’s silver blood seeping out and spreading across his skin and onto Buffy.

We soon discover that Buffy has been infected by this demon and as a result she has acquired some aspect of the demon.  She checks the mirror frequently, looking for the horns or scales or tail that will appear at any moment.  She’s expecting the worst.

Of course, what actually happened is that she gained the demon’s ability to read minds – something that was at least temporarily useful.  Some may even consider it a superpower.  And this really got me thinking about work.  In a previous slice, I reflected on my work situation and the poison that had infected me (from my coworkers). Of course, in my reflection, I had figured out how to rise above it all.  But if I had really fully risen above it, I may not have been empathizing with Buffy today thinking about how my demonic coworkers have infected me. 

Now, though, I might consider what superpower I can get from my coworkers.  Despite our collective dysfunction, we all have incredible individual strengths.  My focus should be on tapping into the best of my colleagues instead of dwelling on perceived weaknesses. 

Another life lesson learned from Buffy.   (And I promise it’s the last time I’ll slice about Buffy… unless she inspires a poem this month.)

16 thoughts on “SOL: Yikes! It’s Tuesday!

  1. shaggerspicchu

    Your Buffy posts make me laugh. I was always too afraid to watch them when they were originally aired and haven’t tried since!

    Reply
    1. Lee Post author

      Well, although clearly I am making important connections, I’m sure I can say it’s a “must see.” You’ll be entertained (not at all scared). It’s good for those times when you can multitask. 🙂

      Reply
  2. jarhartz

    I was giggling throughout this post. So sorry I missed your other Buffy posts (reruns?) And of course she has super powers! Love your connections to your life. Inspiration is all around us. Your reviewing of Buffy seems to just add to it’s depth (yes it’s there if you find it). A tribute to close reading.

    Reply
  3. Kim K

    This was a genius post- thinking about something like Buffy (sorry, it makes me laugh) and relating it to our work. I like the term “collective dysfunction.”

    Reply
  4. arjeha

    I admit that I have never seen any of the Buffy shows. I did have to laugh as I read. It made me think of so many horror movies I’ve seen when a character goes out alone to investigate some mysterious noise. You know that no good will come of it and so do they, yet still they go.

    Reply
  5. elsie

    Glad to see you came back for the Tuesday slice. I’ve never seen a Buffy show and still have no desire. I hope you are able to assume some of the super powers and conquer the evilness brewing. Work is no fun when it’s too dysfunctional.

    Reply
  6. Beth

    You know..Hope became a little obsessed with Buffy this year..she has watched every episode…hooray netflix…but if we don’t focus on the superpowers of others, the real drudge of working together can’t be overcome…it’s ok to be annoyed with them…on occasion…

    Reply
  7. aggiekesler

    I’ve never seen Buffy before, but I love how you made connections between the show and your life. Hope you can find the strength to rise above the negative influence they are having on you!

    Reply
  8. Julie Johnson

    Tuesday came by fast didn’t it? 🙂 I was feeling the same way. I’ve not seen Buffy before, but it sounds like you learn a lot of good life lessons from her. Have a good rest of the week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

