SOLSC 2015 #1



Thanks to the ladies at Two Writing Teachers for hosting the SOLSC!  

I’m excited to begin the Slice of Life Story Challenge after a year away.  On April 1, 2014, I was feeling proud that I fully participated the entire month of March and I looked forward to continuing on a weekly basis.  I didn’t last long.  So, I’m back to try again and to do better in my second year – completing the challenge and continuing beyond the second week in April.

The second I stepped off the elevator, the smell of lilies brushed up against me and my face broke out in a smile.  Smiles are hard to come by at the end of a tiring month of travel.  Particularly hard to come by at the end of a challenging week.  But the smell of these lilies definitely brought a smile to my face.  Lilies.  Beautiful, tall, white lilies.  I smiled knowing the smell was coming from my apartment.  I smiled knowing that I was responsible for the marked improvement in the hallway.  I smiled knowing that as soon as I got into my apartment I would also be able to see the beauty I was smelling.  I smiled knowing that those flowers were a gift – an act of kindness.  

Flowers make me smile so I like to keep them in my apartment.  I had been on the road for most of February and I desperately needed a smile.  I stopped by the flower shop on the way to get my fix.  I quickly picked out the bunch that I liked best – a mixture of about 6 different types of flowers.  I gave the saleswoman my credit card and she ran it, but then she immediately ran into the back of the shop.  The saleswoman is Japanese, and so usually very attentive.  It is unusual for this type of multi-tasking, but it didn’t bother me because it seemed to be taking a while for the purchase to go through.  But then I heard the tape printing and she was still in the back.  It had been a difficult weak and I was worn down.  Ironically, this resulted in my being more patient than usual.   When the saleswoman returned, I was very thankful that I had been patient.  She was carrying a heavy-looking wooden container of lilies.  She told me that they were “leftover Lilies” and offered them to me.  As many as I wanted.  I took only half, knowing that I didn’t have a vase big enough for all of them, but also not wanting to seem greedy.  


It was such a kind gesture, not the first kindness from this shop.  And I’ve smiled every day since – seeing the flowers, smelling them, and thinking about the kindness that brought them into my home.    It’s a great reminder to me to pay it forward – to do small things to make others smile.

 







Thanks for reading!    Lee

12 thoughts on “SOLSC 2015 #1

  1. dashthebook

    I enjoyed the various contrasts you used in your story. The exhaustion felt as you exit the elevator, greeted by the delightful scents from the Lilies. The kindness of the florist in comparison to the dreariness of travel. You helped the scent of the lilies waft from the page and refresh me.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. Jaana

    Wonderful to get to read your post again! Your picture of lilies made me smile this morning! Perhaps I need to surprise someone at school with flowers this week….

    Reply
    1. Lee Post author

      Thanks! I look forward to reconnecting with people from last year (and, hopefully sticking around throughout the year). I was thinking that I also need to surprise someone with flowers. It has really made my week.

      Reply
  3. readingtothecore

    The lilies are gorgeous, Lee! I’m so happy to see you slicing this month. I wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed getting to know you at the Slicers dinner in November, and I loved The Red Pencil. Thank you so much! Looking forward to reading more of your slices from Japan.

    Reply
    1. Lee Post author

      I’m glad you found me! I still haven’t read The Red Pencil. I’m putting it at the top of my list. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

